HOME          Back to Weather Concepts and Definitions

UTC, Z, and GMT



Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), Zulu Time (Z), and Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all refer to the same time but will be at different times of the day compared to other standard times. For example, 00:00 UTC/Z/GMT occurs at 7 PM EST, 6 PM CST, 5 PM MST, and 4 PM PST. *Remember, if Daylight Savings Time is in effect, then 00:00 will occur one hour later on the clock.