HOME          Favorite Storms

Heavy Snow with Thunder!

Duluth, MN

February 20 to 21, 2014

Summary

The heaviest snow fell mid to late evening February 20. Snow accumulated just under two inches between 9 PM and 10 PM CST. Made a personal observation of lightning and thunder at 9:51 PM CST! Overall snow fell from late morning February 20 into the early daylight morning hours February 21, with some flurries lingering beyond that time. The radar loop includes the time thundersnow occurred.

Snow Totals:
NWS Duluth   14.3
Personal Measurment   15.6


Radar loop 9:11 PM CST to 10:56 PM CST, February 21, 2014 - National Weather Service Duluth, MN


Storm Evolution

The following maps show the track and intensification of the storm. The 500 mb pressure level maps are used to show the upper air features of the storm.

Surface maps from the Weather Prediction Center's surface map archive

6:00 AM CST, February 20, 2014 (12:00 UTC, February 20)


12:00 PM CST, February 20, 2014 (18:00 UTC, February 20)


6:00 PM CST, February 20, 2014 (00:00 UTC, February 21)


12:00 AM CST, February 21, 2014 (06:00 UTC, February 21)


6:00 AM CST, February 21, 2014 (12:00 UTC, February 21)

500 mb maps from the Storm Prediction Center's upper air map archive

6:00 AM CST, February 20, 2014 (12:00 UTC, February 20)


6:00 PM CST, February 20, 2014 (00:00 UTC, February 21)


6:00 AM CST, February 21, 2014 (12:00 UTC, February 21)