HOME          Favorite Storms

Intense Frontogenetically Enhanced Snow

Duluth, MN

April 22 to 23, 2013

Snow started at 3:15 PM CST then became very heavy at 3:30 PM. A strong frontogenetic enhanced snow band dumped 7.0 inches in two hours from 3:30 PM to 5:30 PM at this observer's location. Snowflakes frequently exceeded an inch in diameter. A few particularly large oval shaped flakes extended 3 inches along their longer axis. Snow intensity decreased after 5:45 PM and continued as light to moderate snow through the evening, becoming very light after 12 AM, then flurries after 4:30 AM, ending 5:30 AM.

The heaviest snow fell from central Duluth to west Duluth and Proctor and also northwest out to the National Weather Service Office and Duluth International Airport. The area described received 8 to 12 inches total for the storm based on NWS reports. The intensity of the snow dropped temperatures quickly from around 37 degrees at the start of the storm to near freezing. Some specific snow totals include DAK 11.3 and DLH 8.8.

Radar images from the National Weather Service in Duluth, MN

3:57 PM CST (21:57 UTC) April 22, 2013


4:30 PM CST (22:30 UTC) February 22, 2013